Wilco’s dBpm Records releases Pops Staples’ final album

Don’t Lose This, an album of previously unreleased music by the late singer and guitarist Pops Staples, is out now via dBpm/ANTI- Records. Pick it up at your local record shop, Amazon or iTunes.

Featuring Pops on guitar with vocals by Pops and the famed Staple Singers of Mavis, Cleotha and Yvonne, Don’t Lose This presents 10 songs originally recorded and produced by Pops and Mavis in 1999 but left unfinished at the time of his death in 2000.  Now complete, the album features new production by Jeff Tweedy, as well as new bass and guitar by Jeff Tweedy and new drums by Spencer Tweedy.

Listen to Jeff and Mavis discuss Don’t Lose This on NPR Morning Edition, plus watch their Pitchfork.TV mini-doc below.

Hear Don’t Lose This cuts “Somebody Was Watching Me” at Pitchfork and “Friendship” at WSJ Speakeasy, streaming below.